Why I Marched

 

I marched on Saturday. For all those who loudly said the march did not represent you, don’t worry. I didn’t march for you. I marched for me and for my family. I marched for this guy:

I marched because Donald Trump made fun of a disabled reporter. I cannot tolerate this. This was enough for me.

I marched for the protections afforded to my son by the Affordable Care Act.

If you’ve never had to rely on your health insurance, I’m happy for you. But not all of us are that lucky.

My son is not on Medicaid. His health costs are bank rolled by private insurance and his parents. Every year, my husband and I budget to pay our health insurance out-of-pocket max. In addition to our out-of-pocket max, we also pay for diapers, over the counter medicines, extra medical equipment, therapies we deem necessary but insurance doesn’t cover, and anything else he needs. Don’t forget incidentals, like all the meals we eat at the Children’s hospital cafeteria and the $50 sweatshirt from the Children’s hospital gift shop I purchased when Jackson was rushed to the ER and I was freezing because I left the house in a hurry.

I don’t want to become dependent on the government for Jackson’s healthcare. I don’t think anyone wants that. As shocking as it may sound, I want my husband and I and private insurance to be enough for my son.

However, repeal of the ACA may directly affect my family, so I marched. I need the government to keep the pre-existing conditions clause as well as the ban on lifetime dollar limits on essential health benefits. Without the ban on lifetime limits, Jackson may have already met some arbitrary limit. I need private health insurance companies to keep covering my son and I’m afraid the only way to make that happen is for the government to require it.

So, I’m sorry (not sorry) that our little march interrupted your Saturday. I’ve had enough and it’s time for me to make my voice heard.

 

9 responses to “Why I Marched

  1. Ditto to what my sister said, so proud of my niece for standing up for what is right! Santina and Josh, you are the best parents!

  2. You go girl. Mamas have to be warriors and tigers when it comes to family. To march is a roar so as to be heard.

  3. I marched as well for many reasons including my 65 year old disabled sister as well. You rock, Santina, as does your whole family.

  4. I have marched in the past for my passionate beliefs so I understand where you are coming from. That being said, this President and his advisors have been in office less that a week. We at this time do not really know the outcome of the health care and the changes that are to follow. My representative spoke yesterday about this issue and said that the real change will not be announced or put into effect until somewhere in 2018. So you might be able to receive more help than you are getting now at possibly a more reasonable rate. This is our hope.Take care of your precious family and we think of you often. Elaine

  5. Thank you for your articulate and brave words! I marched in DC and continue to pray that folks understand this wasn’t a protest against but a march for all those who don’t have a voice in the current state of affairs. Thank you for your example of courage!

  6. Just seeing this. Well done ❤

    *Sharon Chabal*

    On Tue, Jan 24, 2017 at 4:12 AM, cincinnati b(liss) wrote:

    > cincinnatibliss posted: ” I marched on Saturday. For all those who loudly > said the march did not represent you, don’t worry. I didn’t march for you. > I marched for me and for my family. I marched for this guy: I marched > because Donald Trump made fun of a disabled reporte” >

Leave a Reply

