Music Therapy

US Weekly Magazine has a section called “25 Things You Don’t Know About Me.” If I were a celebrity and had to write my list, two of the things you don’t about me would be (1) I played the saxophone for eight years and (2) I also played the guitar during high school and college. You’re probably thinking, “Huh, now that she mentioned it, she does look like a musician.” Just kidding.

How does this relate to Jackson?

Jackson gets music therapy from the Cincinnati Association for the Blind and Visually Impaired and he loves it. The music therapist comes to our house. Jackson lays on his mat and she sits next to him, plays the guitar and sings to him for about an hour. During the hour, Jackson makes noise, laughs, kicks his legs and tries to touch the instruments. The music therapist brings other instruments with her that Jackson can play, like hand chimes and a children’s drum.

After seeing how much Jackson likes music therapy and knowing that I have a guitar and used to play it, I decided I should (literally) dust the old thing off and learn to play again. I also decided the best way to get back into it would be to take lessons. So, I spent this afternoon at Willis Music with Chuck of the Dallas Moore Band and had my first lesson in over ten years. I’m going back the next few Saturday afternoons.

It’s fun learning to play the guitar again. For my and Jackson’s sake, I hope I actually practice. Contact me if you’d like to get together to jam. I’ll warn you: Jackson prefers songs like She’ll Be Comin’ Round the Mountain and the Itsy Bitsy Spider over Led Zeppelin and the Beatles.

beatles

5 responses to “Music Therapy

  1. sounds like Jackson and I have something in common. I love music too. Good for Jackson and good for you for picking up the guitar lessons. God bless all of you.

  2. Santina, who is Jackson’s music therapist? A good friend of mine from Church is one of the music therapists at the Association.

  3. Lucky Jackson that I was not his mom. Not a musical note is in my body. I took several lessons to learn the guitar and all that came out of that was the g chord ( if is even a chord). The grandkids

    make fun of me and go around singing GGGGG. So enjoy the music.
    make fr

  4. Santina, Just thought I would share that Jason plays, he has taught himself. Keep the music coming! We love all of you.

Leave a Reply

