Cheers to a new year

New Years

I think of myself as an optimist, seeing the positive in everything, which is why it’s hard for me to admit I’m glad 2012 is over. Last year was a rough year for our family. My grandma passed away in September. Jasper, the gray cat below, became extremely ill at the beginning of the year and, after weekly vet visits, siringe feeding and many meds, we had to put him down at the end of February. His final diagnosis was feline infectious peritonitis virus or FIP.

Kittens

Side note: We still have Leo, the mackerel tabby cat in the picture. We’re happy to report Leo is healthy and doing well. His favorite pastimes include playing with his feather stick and throwing up at various locations throughout the house.

Jax and Jasper

And then there’s the obvious reason 2012 was a rough one: lissencephaly. My catchy saying is “4/11 was our 9/11” because Jackson was diagnosed on April 11, 2012. I can’t explain what it was like to go through his diagnosis and the months following.

Now for the eternal optimist in me: What I can tell you is that we have a great family and very supportive friends. Everyone’s help has made it a lot easier for us.

I can also tell you that we’re so grateful to have Jackson. He’s the light of our lives. He makes us appreciate the small things because we love every little thing that he does. Side note: He got a teddy bear for Christmas. Thank you Aunt Natalie! We put the teddy bear in his lap and he started feeling the teddy bear with his hands. This is a big deal because he doesn’t really use his hands yet.

Teddy bear

I can also tell you we’re lucky to be in Cincinnati and close to Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. Some families travel hours to get here and we only have to go twenty minutes. We’ve met really great people who provide invaluable care and services to Jackson and our family.

We’ve realized we’re not the only ones dealing with something like this. I do not wish lissencephaly or any special need on any family, but it’s nice to know there are other people who understand what we’re going through.

Overall, 2012 had lots of ups and downs. The whole year wasn’t bad. I hope 2013 has less downs and more ups. I know we’re going to have some downs, but I’m hoping and praying the downs won’t be as drastic as they were last year. The main lesson I learned was no matter what happens life always goes on.

5 responses to “Cheers to a new year

  1. Josh and Santina, you are so positive and I am sure that helps Jackson. He surely knows how MUCH he is loved by his mom and dad. Your writings are so inspirational to us. George & I pray daily for you that you keep that positiveness and go forward with FAITH. What else do we have? Blessings. Aunt Jane and Geoge

  2. Santina,
    I love you and your optimism! Jackson is so blessed to have you and Josh, and the rest of your amazing family. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.
    Jayne

Leave a Reply

