Birth Day

A year ago yesterday I was working my last day of work for three months. I didn’t know it then. It was Friday, September 30, 2011. I was sure I’d be back at work on Monday. My due date was October 1, but no one is born on their due date. Right?

I wasn’t feeling great. I thought I may have had a few contractions that evening. I didn’t tell Josh… I was scared… Even though we had gone through childbirth class (actually it was natural childbirth class), I wasn’t sure how my little munchkin was going to get out of my body. I knew there were only two ways out, but neither sounded pleasant to me.

Now’s probably the time I should tell you about my natural childbirth plan. I was set on having a natural childbirth. We had taken the natural childbirth class; I had read up on relaxation techniques; my calming, peaceful music was packed for the labor and delivery room; the birth plan was typed up and ready to be presented to the medical staff (the birth plan that said, “don’t offer me any drugs, I’ll let you know if I need anything”).  I was prepared for everything… except the pain of actually being in labor.

A year ago today, I was in labor… the pain was excruciating!!!

Side note: If you’re reading this and you’re pregnant for the first time, labor and delivery is going to be a breeze. Even though it was painful for me, you’ll be fine 🙂

At the hospital, the nurse told me I wasn’t in active labor and should go home. I gave her a death look. I was eventually admitted and immediately requested an epidural. Josh asked if he should get out the birth plan and I yelled, “NO!” I was in a lot of pain and I needed drugs.

We were admitted around 8:30 pm on October 1. I was given an epidural shortly thereafter and the baby came out via emergency c-section at 11:37 that night. His umbilical cord fell down before his head, known as cord prolapse. The baby can’t be born this way, so Jackson required an emergency c-section.

That was one year ago today.

When I look back on this past year, I can’t believe how much our lives have changed. Josh and I have learned to love someone more than we love each other or ourselves; we’ve learned how to change diapers, make bottles and survive on little sleep. We’ve learned how to appreciate the small things, like every time Jackson smiles, laughs or hits a toy. The past year has had highs and very low lows. We’ve learned we will live through almost anything, including incredibly bad news… and that life goes on and gets better.

Again, thank you to all of our friends and family who’ve supported us this past year. We couldn’t have done it without you. And, most importantly, happy birthday to my little munchkin!

2 responses to “Birth Day

Leave a Reply

